New York Knicks: 25 Greatest Players of All-Time

25 of 27

3. Patrick Ewing

From 1985 to 2000, Patrick Ewing was the New York Knicks. This isn’t to say that he was alone on the roster, but instead to acknowledge how important he was to the team.

Ewing embodied the Knicks’ grind-it-out style, all the while possessing the flash and finesse that keeps fans on the edge of their seats.

Ewing never won a championship, but he led New York to a pair of NBA Finals appearances. He also made 11 All-Star Game appearances, was selected to 10 All-NBA teams and overcame perennial snubs to receive three All-Defensive Team nods.

Most importantly, Ewing is the all-time leading scorer in Knicks history.

He may not have won it all, but Ewing made the Knicks a factor for more than a decade. He lived up to the hype, winning Rookie of the Year and leading New York to 13 consecutive postseason appearances.

Ewing isn’t No. 1, but he’s very close to it.

Next: The Postseason Hero